In 1937 the North Carolina General Assembly enacted an Alcoholic Beverage Control bill.  This allowed voters in local jurisdictions to determine if spirituous liquor should be sold in their area.  North Carolina established the ABC Act to assure the public pays the same price from county to county.  The act also gave the State ABC authority over each local ABC Board.  Boards in North Carolina are local independent political subdivisions of the state.  They operate as separated entities establishing their own policies and procedures.  No state or local tax funds are used to support local ABC systems.

On September 2, 1964 the citizens of Johnston County voted for County Liquor Control Stores.  The first ABC store opened December 15, 1964 at its present location of 417 South Brightlead Blvd. in Smithfield.



The Johnston County ABC Board is comprised of three board members appointed by the Johnston County Board of Commissioners.  Board member terms are for three years and can serve for three terms.  The Johnston County ABC Board employs a full-time General Manager who oversees the day to day operations of the ABC Board.  The Johnston County ABC Board meets on the fourth Monday of each month at 10:00am at 417 S. Brightleaf Blvd. Smithfield, NC 27577.